Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Evolution of Branchville's Firehouse


Back to HOME

FIRE ENGINES

AMBULANCES

FIREHOUSE

MISCELLANEOUS

Original Station Original 1926 Station
Members of the BVFCo. in the 1920's or early 1930's in front of the old firehouse
Ambulance Quarters Ambulance Quarters
Photo dating from the 1940's.
Going Up! Taken during expansion of the original station,sometime in late 1953, early 1954. The section in white is the original 1926 station.
And Up! Also taken during expansion of the original station,sometime in late 1953, early 1954. This view from the opposite corner.
And Up! The station nears completion in mid-1954. The 1948 Mack is out front.
It's Done! Expanded Firehouse
Branchville Apparatus at the Dedication of the October 1954 Dedication. From Left to Right: 194? Diamond "T" Engine, 1944 American LaFrance Engine, 1952 Ford Engine, 1948 Cadillac Ambulance, and the 1946 Ford Ambulance.
Here Comes the Parade Branchville Throws a Party!.
The parade approaches at the Dedication of the New, Expanded Firehouse.
Rescue Squad 6 The two ambulances of Branchville Rescue Squad 6 pass during the Parade at the Dedication of the Expanded Firehouse. The 1946 Ford Ambulance leads the 1948 Cadillac in the turn from Branchville Road onto 49th Avenue.
Station & Apparatus - 1975 Branchville Firehouse in 1975
Little had changed since 1974, but renovations were being planned. Left to Right: 1963 Ford American Marsh Pumper "The Grey Ghost", 1969 Peter Pirsch Engine, 1973 Chevrolet Van Ambulance, 1975 Ford Swab Ambulance, and the 1974 Chief's Car.
20 Years Later 20 Years Pass
Our two, then brand new, 1995 Simon-Duplex Saulsbury Engines flank our 1969 Peter Pirsch just prior to our sending the "Open Cab" out to be "rehabbed" (its last previous refit was in 1981).
What about the back? Branchville's "back yard"
Taken from the roof of the soon to be demolished Berwyn Elementary School in 1995, the white area of the firehouse will soon be replaced with a new addition.
Night Shot Branchville at Night
Taken in 1995, from Left to Right are:
Old Engine 111 - 1980 Pirsch Pumper, New Engine's 111 and 113 - 1995 Simon-Duplex Saulsbury Engines, Engine 112 - 1990 Simon-Duplex Saulsbury Engine, and the PG County Owned 199? Ford Ambulance.
Aerial Shot Aerial Shot
Taken in 1998 after completion of the new addition. In the picture, from Left to Right, Back to Front, are:
Engine 112 - 1990 Simon-Duplex Saulsbury Engine, Engine's 111 and 113 - 1995 Simon-Duplex Saulsbury Engines, Ambulance 119 - 1996 Ford Powerstroke/Lifeline Ambulance, "Old" Engine 112 - 1969 Pirsch Engine, Utility 11 - 1995 Ford F150 Pickup, and Chief Cars 11 and 11-A - 1997 Chevrolet Tahoe's.

Click here to contact the creator of this page.

Last Overhaul of this page on 03/12/2001.


This page Copyright 2000, Thomas L. Tanner, Jr. unless otherwise noted.